In a region that is known for its majestic mountains, hot summer sun, age old shady oak trees and icy winters, lies De Compagnie Wine Estate in the historic Val du Charron, the Wamakersvallei.
The Estate of 27 hectares lies snugly hidden in the narrow valley between the cliffs of the Hawekwa Mountains and Groenberg, 5 kilometers outside the picturesque village of Wellington, on the Bovlei-route.
Farming and viniculture has been practised on De Compagnie for almost three centuries. In 1705 the Verenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie granted the farm Rustenburg to Jan Laurense van Rostock. According to the conditions issued by the VOC, Van Rostock had to plant wheat and oak trees and breed cattle.
During February 2002 Johann Loubser and Riana Scheepers became the owners of the farm. Coinciding with the 400th anniversary of the foundation of the VOC in 1602, the estate was renamed to De Compagnie. Johann en Riana immediately began with the restoration of the beautiful 18th century homestead and the upgrading and expansion of the existing vineyards.